Skip To Main Content

Edgar McCleary Service Award

Edgar McCleary was the first full-time Executive Director of the Florida Council of Independent
Schools (FCIS) and served tirelessly in this role from 1978 to 1990.  Edgar had a heart for teachers, and
therefore, in his memory, this award is awarded to a “teacher’s teacher,” to acknowledge the outstanding service of an individual who has given generously of his/her time in service to further the mission of the FCIS schools.
Those Eligible:
  • Any individual, with the exception of a sitting FCIS board member, who has given outstanding service to FCIS schools.
Nominations and voting are done by the FCIS Board of Directors. 
Edgar McCleary Service Award Recipients:
2011 – Marian Krutulis, Gulliver Schools, Miami
2013 – Dr. Joan Lutton, The Cushman School, Miami
2015 – Catherine Ford , Holy Trinity Episcopal, Melbourne
2017 – Dr. Steve Russey, St. Johns Country Day School, Orange Park
2019 – Richard Gehman, Oak Hall School, Gainesville
2021 – Dr. Joyce Swarzman, Corbett Preparatory School of IDS, Tampa
2023 - Dr. Jan Pullen, Saint Stephen's Episcopal School, Bradenton